Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Pregnant-One of Jehovah's Witnesses

Smile Pregnant-One of Jehovah's Witnesses

Hello everyone, this is my first time here. I went to see my consultant today and discussed non-blood treatment if I do go into trauma when delivering my baby. Consultant was no help at all. Very dismissive and I really felt that I wasn't in good hands. I am now going to get in touch with The hospital liaison committee and get one of the elders to come with me to the next appointment. My argument against the consultant is that she said when I am in labour they will not be putting any thing in place to help me if I do go into trauma. I will be treated like all the pregnant women, who would take blood. My argument is that: I don't want to work against them, I want the best treatment possible. So why, if they can put something in place to save my life if I do go into trauma, why won't they do it??? Regards Moesha1 p.s. this isnt the last the consultant has heard from me, believe me!

2. New Feature! NoBlood Answers!

• ASK questions regarding Transfusion Alternatives and Patient Blood Management.
    • SHARE your facts, opinions and personal experience.
    • DISCOVER the best answers chosen by Healthcare Professionals and the Public.
    • RANK the best answers.

Click here to see the Best Answers to Top Questions.

Sounds like "communication" issues got in your way . . .

Some observations for you to consider:
    1. It is important on your part to follow your OB/GYN's recommendations regarding prenatal vitamins and iron (as needed) and an iron rich diet to insure that your hemoglobin and hematocrit are within normal range and that you aren't "anemic" as you go through this pregnancy. This may need to be regularly "monitored" by your OB/GYN as you get closer to delivery.