Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The pros and cons of bloodless medicine

Question The pros and cons of bloodless medicine

Hi,
    I'm a third year medical student at a university in South-Africa. We are currently doing a research project on bloodless surgery. My part in the whole project is to find out why bloodless medicine [and especially surgery] is becoming more and more important and the benefits and disadvantages of bloodless medicine. If anyone can help me with any kind of information or their personal opinions I will really appreciate it.

Thank you,
    Elzet

2. New Feature! NoBlood Answers!

• ASK questions regarding Transfusion Alternatives and Patient Blood Management.
    • SHARE your facts, opinions and personal experience.
    • DISCOVER the best answers chosen by Healthcare Professionals and the Public.
    • RANK the best answers.

Click here to see the Best Answers to Top Questions.

By searching Medline by service line (i.e. cardiac, total joint replacement, critical care etc.) and blood transfusion or bloodless you will find many abstracts that tell the story. They will focus on increased length of stay, higher costs, immunosuppression, human error/wrong blood transfused etc.

Some of the information you seek is located under the Medical Abstracts forum on this site.
    Mr. Jan B. Wade
    Admin
    Email

Click here for the Best Questions and Answers regarding Transfusion Alternatives and Patient Blood Management.

Hi Elzet.
    The benefiits and popularity of bloodless surgery center around (3) main areas:

Clinical